The Next Step

As the great Harold Speed himself once said, one of the hardest things for an art student to do is to take what one learns in the studio, under rigorous, controlled lighting and set ups, and infuse them with imagination, creativity, and life. It is one thing to be able to technically depict the model, but beyond academia, what really counts from there on out is the illusion and feeling of life. When it comes to characters, we respond instantly to a face, to an expression, an emotion.

I’ve been having lots of life drawing lately, not so much long poses anymore, but clothed, costumed, expression short poses. Here is a page of some of the sketches I’ve been doing.

I suppose I should be thankful that I belong to the camp of people who don’t mind not drawing directly on screen. Apparently some people find it difficult to draw on a regular tablet, which I totally understand — it’s such an alien endeavor especially when compared to pencil and paper. But I guess because I used to paint with a mouse years ago, having a normal tablet STILL feels like a luxury to me. I don’t even know what I’d do if I happened to get a Cintiq one day!

3 thoughts on “The Next Step

  1. Your digital lines are so neat and flowy! I assume you didn’t use the eraser tool.
    For me, the biggest issue with drawing via Wacom tablet is that its nearly impossible to aim to lines properly; it’s like, you draw one line in that direction and before you’re even 10% done with the line, it snakes out of control here and there. LOL I can’t wait to get the Cintiq some day, though! :-D Can’t imagine what it’s like!

    • Haha, of course I do use the eraser tool when it’s needed. But it’s important to draw from the arm to get the strokes you want, especially on a tablet. Don’t hesitate when you’ve decided to make the stroke or you will get wobbly lines.

      • I see. :-) By the way, when you draw with your arm on the tablet, surely the size of your photoshop canvas must be quite large (maybe 3500 * 3500 pixels and above), and then you zoom in? That’s the only way I can get long flowy lines, because if the canvas size is small, the line control gets a hundred times more difficult.

Leave a Reply

